IEEE International Microwave Workshop Series on  
"RF Front-ends for Software Defined and Cognitive Radio Solutions"
Skip Navigation Links
Home Page
Call for Papers
Technical Program
Invited Speakers
Paper submission
Tourist Information
Skip Navigation LinksCall for Papers

    The FINAL PAPER TEMPLATE can be found here: TEMPLATE and Copyright

The IEEE MTT-S Administrative Committee (AdCom) has recently passed a resolution of its Transnational Committee to create and develop the IEEE MTT-S International Workshop Series (IMWS), which will complement the existing workshops of the MTTS International Microwave Symposia. The purpose of this new platform is to boost and promote MTT-S technical and educational activities as well as MTT-S international exchanges and collaborations. Several workshops covering different topics of MTT-S interest will be developed each year at a worldwide scale, spreading in various continents and countries.

    Through its technical program, this edition of the workshop aims to stimulate the discussion and promotion of new ideas in the field of advanced Microwave and RF front ends for Software Defined Radio and Cognitive Radio technologies.

    The workshop format will consist of a single oral session paralleled by a permanent poster session. Submitted abstracts are expected to cover state-of-the-art, theoretical aspects, implementation and innovative applications in the field of RF front ends for software defined radio and cognitive radio. Participation of young researchers is strongly encouraged and supported via Young Researcher Grants.


Topics of interest are, but are not limited to:

  • Adaptive and Reconfigurable Radio Front-end Architectures.
  • Signal processing techniques for reducing front-ends complexity.
  • Power control and bandwidth management.
  • Technologies for Dynamic Spectrum Access
  • New A/D and D/A technologies and techniques
  • UWB-Based Cognitive Radio
  • PHY requirement regarding new Cognitive Radio standards
  • Advanced SDR and CR technologies for TV broadcast service spectrum.
  • Linearized transmitters for multimode - multiband operation
  • Efficient high peak power transmitters.
  • PAPR reductions techniques
  • Multimode and/or multiband efficient power amplifiers

Paper Submission

    Papers will be reviewed on the basis of two-pages (including figures) extended abstracts of sufficient detail to permit reasonable evaluation, focusing mainly on the innovative aspects of the contribution. Authors of accepted contributions will provide, at the conference venue, the full-length final version of the paper to be included in the workshop proceedings. The final version of accepted papers will consist of four pages in two-column format.


Abstract Submission due (changed): November 09nd , 2009

Notification of Acceptance: December 14th , 2009

Final Papers due: Conference Venue


    IMWS2010 will be held at the University of Aveiro, Aveiro (PORTUGAL). Aveiro is a town located at the centre of Ria de Aveiro, a unique river mouth region in the country. Placed inside of a tourist region (Região Rota da Luz), it presents a versatile mix of beaches, country, and mountains. So the participants can enjoy the relaxation and quietness of a small metropolis while benefiting from high standard communication and accommodation facilities.

Download the Call For Papers Flyer here

Download the Abstract Template here

 IT - Aveiro 2009
Local Commitee

General Chair:
Prof. Nuno Borges Carvalho
Instituto de Telecomunicações
Universidade de Aveiro

Local TPC Co-Chairs:
Nuno Borges Carvalho
João Nuno Matos
José Neto Vieira

Local Arrangements:
Website Administrator:
Pedro Silva
André Azevedo

Registration Chair:
Pedro Cabral

Publicity and Public Relations

Arnaldo Oliveira
Raquel Madureira

Steering Committee:

Nuno Borges Carvalho
Universidade de Aveiro
Ke Wu
University of Montréal
Dominique Schreurs
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Michael Bernard Steer
North Carolina State University
Eduard Bertran
Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
Alessandro Cidronali
University of Florence
Franscesc Coromina
European Space Agency
Fadhel Ghannouchi
University of Calgary
Christian Fager
Chalmers University
Upkar Dhaliwal
Future Wireless Technologies
Dr. Joe Mitola III
Stevens Institute of Technology
Bumman Kim
Pohang University of Science and Technology
Shoichi Narahashi
Research Laboratories, NTT DOCOMO, INC., Japan
Lee Pucker
The SDR Forum

Chul Soon Park